Arzamas is located 110 km to the south of Nizhny Novgorod. This small town has a population of just over 110 thousand people. There is a small river Tesha and the town is an important transport hub of railways.

Arzamas is the third city of Nizhny Novgorod region. The successful geographical location of Arzamas was explained by its role as a knot of horse paths from the chernozem edges to the banks of the Volga. Many goods passing through the city were handled here by local craftsmen. Dozens of Arzamas churches gave an opportunity to develop such crafts as gold, embossing and icon painting.

Arzamas has more than 460 years of existence, is an all-Russian heritage and has a rich history. Arzamas was founded in 1558 in the place of a large Mordovian settlement, and the first mention of it as a settlement is found in the chronicles of 1576. In those turbulent times Arzamas was an important defensive point, and later became a major transport hub and the center of regional trade.

Arzamas gained such importance in the sphere of trade because of its good geographical location, which was an important transport hub for the roadways leading to the Volga river. A large flow of passing goods and the presence of many churches made it possible to develop local trade, craftsmen and artisans. Cathedrals of the town were decorated with stunning iconography, workshop chasing and items of goldwork mastery.

In the years of uprisings led by Stepan Razin, warlords of Arzamas took part in the suppression of riots and the killings of their members. In connection with this event in 1670 on the still-existing Ivanovo hill by order of the king, was executed more than 11 thousand people suspected of rebellion.

For the whole of ancient Russia Arzamas was famous for a rare breed of geese and a unique variety of onion. The city grew rapidly felting craft and handicraft business.

In Arzamas got its origins and part of the cultural heritage of Russia. Famous academician A.V. Stupin in the nineteenth century opened their school of painting, where he taught such famous artists as V. G. Perov, and others.

Arzamas is one of the cultural heritage of Russia and a list of historically significant cities. The city has many museums, a planetarium, and on the streets of the city there are more than 30 monuments to various figures: Lenin, Marx, M. Gorky, A. Gaidar, A. Stupin, the hero V. Novikov.

By the number of architectural monuments Arzamas can be considered a big city-Museum. The creation of its historical plan began in the late XVIII, when Catherine II approved the geometric plan of 1781 g radial-beam location Arzamas streets and squares. The center of Arzamas and now, and then considered Cathedral square, which previously housed the fortress — it is from her still fan diverge streets in the upper and lower parts of the city.

At all times Cathedral Square was considered the main sightseeing of Arzamas. There is located the magnificent five-domed Resurrection Cathedral (1814-1842), towering above the whole city, which was created by the famous architect M. P. Korinfsky. The cathedral rests on 48 columns and impresses with its layout, the ancient carved iconostasis and the domed, floating vault. The interior of the cathedral is decorated with gold embossing, painting and frescoes by artists O. and A. Serebryakov’s

The Church of the Life-giving Spring (1794), which harmoniously combines elements of classical style and baroque, strikes with its architecture. And the Church of the Epiphany of the Lord (1813), part of the ensemble of the Nikolayevsky convent, looks more like a carved Venetian basilica.

Another architectural pearl of the Cathedral Square is the building of the former city magistrate (1740), made in the Baroque style with powerful arches and two tiers of windows.

A unique architectural monument is the Shops Row, leading from the Cathedral Square down the city, which is a street of 40 houses built by a solid facade line.

During the active construction of churches throughout the country, 25 churches and 4 monasteries were built in Arzamas. Each building has its own look and represents the embodiment of the best traditions of Russian temple architecture. The most ancient cathedral in Arzamas is the Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery, which rises an entire ensemble in the southeastern part of the city. Its main temple is the Transfiguration of the Lord (1638-1643), which is located on the shore of the Holy Lake.

For several years the program "Arzamas Domes" has been carried out to revive and restore monuments of architecture and church cathedrals in Arzamas. Within the framework of this program, churches were restored and revived in the name of the Holy Spirit (1768), in honor of the holy icon of the Kazan Mother of God (1792), in memory of St. Apostle Andrew the First-Called (1793), Tikhvin Mother of God (1786) and the Sign of the Blessed Virgin Mary (1801). Now the new, golden and sky-blue domes of Arzamas churches are visible for tens of kilometers in the district.

Arzamas has perfectly preserved many monuments of architecture from different eras that are in excellent condition and create a unique look of the city. Near the modern high-rise proudly perform noble mansions and merchant estates, houses of noble townspeople and famous people who come to our city.

It is this huge, architectural and cultural layer that represents a very valuable heritage for our entire country and allows Arzamas to be placed in a number of the most interesting small cities of Russia.

If you are going on a business trip to Arzamas or just decided to rest and visit the shrines of Diveevo and Arzamas sights, be aware that the hotel "Reavil" can offer you the best value for money and service. That is why among all the hotels in Arzamas it is worth to distinguish the hotel "Reavil".

Арзамас городок – Москвы уголок

Славный город Арзамас расположен в 110 км к югу Нижнего Новгорода. Городок этот небольшой — с населением чуть более 110 тыс. жителей. Вдоль всей территории Арзамаса протекает небольшая река Теша, а сам город является важным транспортным узлом для железнодорожных путей сообщения и автодорог.

Арзамас — третий по численности населения области город. Удачное географическое положение Арзамаса объяснялось его ролью узла гужевых путей из черноземных краев к берегам Волги. Многие грузы, проходящие через город, обрабатывались здесь местными умельцами. Десятки Арзамасских церквей давали возможность развиться таким ремеслам, как золотошвейная, чеканка, иконопись.

Арзамас насчитывает более 460 лет существования, представляет собой общероссийское достояние и имеет богатую историю. Городок был основан когда-то на месте крупных мордовских поселений, а первое упоминание о нем, как о населенном пункте встречается в летописях 1576 года. В те неспокойные времена Арзамас был важным оборонительным пунктом, а несколько позже стал крупным транспортным узлом и центром областной торговли.

Такую значимость в сфере торговли Арзамас получил из-за удачного географического расположения, которое выступало важным транспортным узлом для гужевых путей, ведущих к Волге. Большой поток проходящих грузов и наличие множества церквей давало возможность развиваться местной торговле, мастерам и ремесленникам. Соборы Арзамаса украшала потрясающая иконопись, мастерская чеканка и предметы золотошвейного мастерства.

В годы восстаний под предводительством Степана Разина, военачальники из Арзамаса участвовали в подавлении мятежей и расправах над их участниками. В связи с этим событием в 1670 году на существующих до сих пор Ивановских буграх по приказу царя было казнено более 11 тыс. человек, подозревающихся в мятеже.

На всю древнюю Россию Арзамас славился редкой породой гусей и уникальным сортом лука. В городе активно развивался валяльный промысел и ремесленное дело.

В Арзамасе получило свои истоки и часть культурного наследия России. Знаменитый академик А. В Ступин в XIX веке открыл здесь свою школу живописи, где обучались такие знаменитые художники, как В. Г. Перов и др.

В Арзамасе жили и побывали проездом много известных людей, поэтов, писателей и общественных деятелей: А. С. Пушкин, Л. Н. Толстой, В. Г. Короленко, В. И. Немирович-Данченко, Л. Н. Андреев. М. Горький отбывал здесь ссылку, а А. П. Гайдар провел свое детство.

Арзамас входит в число культурного наследия России и в список исторически значимых городов. В городе много музеев, есть планетарий, а на улицах города установлены более 30 памятников различным деятелям: В. Ленину, К. Марксу, М. Горькому, А. Гайдару, А. Ступину, герою В. Новикову.

По количеству памятников архитектуры Арзамас можно считать большим городом-музеем. Создание его исторической планировки началось в конце XVIII, когда Екатерина II утвердила геометрический план 1781г радиально-лучевого расположения арзамасских улиц и площадей. Центром Арзамаса и сейчас, и тогда считалась Соборная площадь, на которой раньше располагалась крепость — именно от нее до сих пор веером расходятся улицы в верхнюю и нижнюю части города.

Соборная площадь во все времена считалась Главной достопримечательностью Арзамаса. На ней расположен возвышающийся над всем городом, великолепный пятиглавый Воскресенский собор(1814-1842гг.), который был создан известным архитектором М. П. Коринфским. Собор держится на 48 колоннах и поражает своей планировкой, древним резным иконостасом и куполообразным, парящим сводом. Внутреннее убранство собора украшено золотой чеканкой, росписью и фресками художников О. и А. Серебряковых.

Поражает своей архитектурой церковь Живоносного источника (1794г.), которая гармонично сочетает в себе элементы классического стиля и барокко. А церковь Богоявления Господня (1813г.), входящая в ансамбль Николаевского женского монастыря, по стилю больше напоминает резную венецианскую базилику.

Еще одной архитектурной жемчужиной Соборной площади является здание бывшего городского магистрата (1740 гг.), выполненное в стиле барокко с мощными сводами и двумя ярусами окон.

Уникальным памятником архитектуры является Гостиный ряд, ведущий от Соборной площади вниз города, который представляет собой улицу из 40 домов, построенных сплошной фасадной линией.

В период активного строительства храмов по всей стране в Арзамасе было построено 25 церквей и 4 монастыря. Каждое здание имеет свой собственный облик и представляет собой воплощение лучших традиций русской храмовой архитектуры. Самым древним собором в Арзамасе является Спассо-Преображенский мужской монастырь, который возвышается целым ансамблем в юго-восточной части города. Его главный храм — Преображения Господня (1638-1643гг.) расположен на берегу Святого озера.

В Арзамасе уже несколько лет осуществляется программа «Арзамасские купола» по возрождению и реставрации памятников архитектуры и церковных соборов. В рамках этой программы были восстановлены и возрождены церкви во имя Святого Духа (1768г.), в честь святой иконы Казанской Божией Матери (1792г.), в память св. Апостола Андрея Первозванного (1793г.). Тихвинской Богородицы (1786г.) и Знамения Пресвятой Богородицы (1801г.). Теперь новые, золотые и небесно синие купола арзамасских церквей видны на десятки километров в округе. 

В Арзамасе прекрасно сохранились многие памятники архитектуры разных эпох, которые находятся в прекрасном состоянии и создают неповторимый облик города. Рядом с современными высотками гордо выступают дворянские особняки и купеческие поместья, дома знатных горожан и знаменитых людей, которые приезжали в наш город.

Именно этот огромный, архитектурный и культурный пласт представляет собой очень ценное наследие для всей нашей страны и позволяет поставить Арзамас в ряд интереснейших малых городов России.

Если вы собираетесь в деловую поездку в Арзамас или просто решили отдохнуть и посетить святыни села Дивеево и Арзамасские достопримечательности, знайте, что отель «Реавиль» может предложить вам наилучшее соотношение цены и качества сервиса. Именно поэтому среди всех гостиниц и отелей Арзамаса стоит выделить именно «Реавиль».